I watched ‘The imitation game’ a couple of days ago and I still can’t figure out if I loved it or hated it.
The first half hour was utterly boring and my main problem was, surprisingly, Benedict Cumberbatch. Now, don’t get me wrong; I absolutely love him in general. I guess I just couldn’t find any differences between his Alan Turing and his Sherlock Holmes. Admittedly, the characters themselves share many common traits (from their intelligence to their complete lack of sociality) but I was expecting from Cumberbatch that little bit of something that would make them more  distinguishable.
The interesting part came when we got to see him interact with his team. Hats off to everyone and especially an excellent, as always, Matthew Goode. Cumberbatch handled his character’s awkwardness, his passion for his science against his own humanity and his doomed homosexuality quite brilliantly.
Although I wasn’t as excited as I expected, I can understand why this movie got so many Oscar nominations. It has everything it needs to be considered a classic. Plus, 2014 must have been the year with the crappiest movies ever…

P.S.: I hope Keira Knightley gets her Oscar this time… No more Meryl!
P.S.2: See my ‘Into the woods’ review for more comments on Meryl Streep’s performance and the ‘Laggies’ one for more Keira.

One thought on “The Imitation Game – Movie Review

Leave a Reply

