When I hit the play button I was fully prepared for the unavoidable comparisons to The Hunger Games and/or The Divergent series. Surprisingly, none came although I got some Lord of the Rings vibes in a couple of scenes.
Admittedly, this is a commonly used formula. Put together a team of handsome young people, throw in some action and angst and voila! A blockbuster success.

BUT

Dylan O’Brien did an amazing job with his character. He reminded me nothing of the mouthy, overactive teenager he first introduced us to (see Teen Wolf) and showed us a whole new perspective of his talent. That was the biggest surprise. Kaya Scodelario on the other hand was a huge disappointment. No chemistry at all with the rest of the cast (an excellent supporting cast If I may add), cold and expressionless, she wasn’t my ideal person for the role of Teresa.
Having not read the books I found myself wondering towards the end of the movie “What will happen in the next one if they are already out of the maze?” So the end was a pleasant cliffhanger though I suspect Dashner’s imagination has more to do with it than the movie’s production team.
All in all, the movie was indeed a big cliche but provided good entertainment for a couple of hours. I don’t regret watching it and I look forward to the next one.

One thought on “The Maze Runner – Movie Review

Leave a Reply

